Here’s to 2013!


Happy New Year everyone! I’ve been a bit off-radar the last few months, what with finishing my London interiors book for Thames and Hudson (out next October – I hope you’ll all buy a copy!), more styling work and on top of all that I have moved house! It’s been a really busy time, but in a good way and I am really excited about 2013. I think it’s going to be a good year, despite what they say.

I spent a wonderful New Year with friends and family at Manoir de la Foulquetiere, my most favourite place in the world. You really must all go and stay in one of their gites or bed and breakfast rooms. We had long walks in the fresh air in the surrounding countryside and we were really lucky to have beautiful clear skies and crisp winter’s days throughout our stay. Our rooms were decorated with the most beautiful French antiques, each with a stunning modern bathroom and we ate all our meals by candlelight in the panelled dining room next to a roaring log fire with a beatiful chandelier twinkling overhead. The house was filled with the smell of log fires, fresh foliage and Rosemary’s AMAZING cooking. It was heavenly.

This is the room we stayed in:

Manoir de la Foulquetiere

On the way back to London we stopped off in Paris for two days to visit the antique markets. I was in seventh heaven, as you can imagine. It is one of the best antique markets on earth, with miles of incredible stuff from 16th century Italian candlesticks to mid century modern furniture, all side by side in the winding streets of Paris. I had set myself a budget, but managed to completely break it and came away with the mirror of my dreams, two Louis armchairs, a pair of girondelles and twelve 1950s cocktail and wine glasses. Ooops. Still, it was all a fraction of what it would cost in an antique shop here and we are doing up our new place from scratch…Β Or at least that’s my excuse! I will try to blog about my adventures doing up our new place as we go along. Anyway, it was really good fun. Here are some photos, to get your creative juices flowing…

Paris 1

 

Paris 2

Paris 3Paris 4Paris 5

 

Paris 6

 

So Happy New Year again and here’s to a wonderful year for you all.

Leave a Reply

