The launch of Making a House Your Home by Clare Nolan


Last night I went to the launch of Clare Nolan’s new interiors book Making A House Your Home at The Conran Shop in South Kensington. Clare is the Lifestyle Editor at You Magazine for the Mail on Sunday and has poured her years of experience as a stylist and editor into this brilliant book. What I like about the book is that it is not just a glossy tome filled with unattainable yet beautiful interiors (although there are plenty of gorgeous rooms on every page to pore over) but that Clare has really thought about all of the details that make a home somewhere that makes you happy, supports and nurtures you and those around you. She gives away lots of her professional tips to help you do this with some really great practical advice and some lovely little practical projects you can have a go at doing yourself.


Now I’ve read plenty of interiors books in my time but there is something I really like about this book – so much so that I nearly missed my stop on my way home from the party I was so engrossed! I think it’s because Clare takes an emotional as well as practical approach to decorating and carefully considers the factors that combine to make your house a home, which after all is the reason I love working in this industry. There is nowhere more important to us than home and it needs to be a place that fulfills our needs and makes us happy. I highly recommend it as a Christmas present for anyone who loves home, interiors and style.

Ingrid Rasmussen and I have just finished a piece for You magazine on Mark Rochester and Talya Baldwin’s home, which will be published on January 8th in the New Year, so put that date in your diary!

Making a House Your Home by Clare Nolan  costs £25 and is published by Kyle Books.

Leave a Reply

