A desk with a view… my home office inspirations


Like most people who work freelance, I work from home and this week I seem to have spent a lot of time typing away on my laptop at the kitchen table. It seems to be the best place for me to work at home since my fiance, an event producer and DJ, has made the bespoke desk we had made his own and there is no way I could be creative amongst all the cables, CDs and vinyl that seem to be multiplying as I write!

The other good thing about working at the kitchen table is that I can keep a close eye on my one-year-old son, Alfie, who is into everything at the moment! Suffice to say, I have been thinking about home offices and how I will create my own workspace when we move as we are fast running out of space now that we are three. These are some of the images I have collected as inspiration…

I like the idea of the vintage frame as a noticeboard for inspirational images and personal keepsakes. The most important thing about a home workspace is that it inspires you and makes you feel happy so that you can be really productive. Having the things you love around you is essential.

This is a fabulous desk, created from two lovely antique desks that both have elegant cabriolet legs. Such a great idea. I also like the black and white art work on the wall and the clean white storage – storage is key in any home office. This works because the antique desk provides a lovely contrast to the contemporary details. If the desk was contemporary too, it could be quite boring but the desk adds character and style.

Lots of great artwork again here, which I think is essential if you are a creative thinker, and also another antique desk. This office also features the juxtaposition of old with new by featuring a Philippe Starck Louis Ghost chair to add a bit of contrast.

More lovely artwork, a vintage desk and rug and a contemporary chair. I think a theme is developing here!

This time contemporary photography and a clean palette contrast with the vintage desk and chair.

This is Tamara Mellon’s home office in London, which I love. Again, she has a beautiful antique desk juxtaposed against contemporary and vintage chairs and an Andy Warhol print. The splash of vivid pink is fabulous.

Images from Elle Decoration, Living Etc and my own archives.

One response

Leave a Reply

